Serbia - Useful information for your trip

The Republic of Serbia is a country located in the southeast of Europe, close to the Balkans. The capital of Serbia is Belgrade, which was also the capital of the former state of Yugoslavia. Following the referendum of 21 May 2006, Montenegro gained independence from Serbia, thus becoming autonomous. The Republic of Serbia is a member country of the United Nations, the Council of Europe and of the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation.

The landscape of northern Serbia is mainly flat and crossed by many tributaries of the Danube, while the southern region is dominated by hills and mountains that do not exceed the height of 1500m. The climate, therefore is different between the North and South of the country. The northern part is characterized by a continental climate, with cold winters and hot and humid summers. To the south, however, the Dinarides Alps affect the climate, making it mostly hot and dry in summer and autumn and cold and full of snow in winter.

The Republic of Serbia is divided into 29 districts and Belgrade. The most important cities are Belgrade, Novi Sad, Nis, Kragujevac and Subotica.

The main occupation of the Serbs is based on tourism and foreign investments have been increasing over the past few years. Tourism in Serbia, however, cannot count on the sea, therefore it consists in spa and mountain tourism mainly. 

In spite of the problems the country has faced, today Serbia is a modern democratic state.